Posted by: atlantiza | August 6, 2009

Kingyo no Kiss (Goldfish’s Kiss) Translation & Romaji

SHIT, I HAD TO USE TL NOTES. As expected from an SZS song. Um, yeah, so this song is Matoi and Kiri comparing love to goldfish or something weird like that. idk. I don’t think I’m supposed to know. I listened to the Zan ED single (Zetsubou Restaurant), which I originally <3’d, but I really like this song for some reason and actually started my translation before the lyrics were typed up on the ‘net, which makes everything a lot easier since all of my translations are already wrong ;o;

English
“Hey, tell me, how long have you liked that person?”

“Hmm, that’s, well, since I wouldn’t lose to anyone.”

“It’s the same for me.” I stopped looking at
that person back then. But today, again,
outside of my window, I gazed at a charming person and sighed

Flower petals flutter like my heart* onto my shoulder
and gently stop
I want to be close to you
I’m getting even more jealous; I’ll gossip

Sitting on top of the desk in the library are
Two goldfish who don’t leave their bowl

It hurts that I enjoy myself in nice outfits
My eyes are like ink
I want add water because I’m keeping my sadness in the dark

My soft, golden body^
Look at it more often
A kiss between fish is
just lightly touching each other; Soap bubbles

Those feelings go unrewarded
It’s the same for us
“Don’t feel bad,” “Don’t feel bad,”
Far away, I cried

Even though evening came, why is my
back that doesn’t move shaking?
I tease you; I want to
let you forget your sadness

My soft, golden body
Squint your eyes at it
A kiss between fish is
just lightly touching each other; Soap bubbles

+The original verb is 泳がせた; 泳がせる can apparently mean “let someone/something go free” but the verb used could also be 泳がせる’s causative form, which would be something like let swim or made to swim. Probably a pun in reference to the fish later on.

*The original line has はらはら舞い散る, both of which mean flutter. I *think* はらはら has more to do with a heart fluttering.

^The actual line refers to the body as 金襴緞子,  an expensive fabric that is basically satin damask with gold brocade. This didn’t seem like a good simile in English, so lol.

Romaji

“ne, oshiete   ano hito   dore kurai suki na no”

“ee   sore wa mou   dare ni mo makenai kurai”

“watashi mo onaji yo” tte   shisen wo oyogaseta
sono saki, ano hito   kyou mo
mado no soto no   kawaii hito wo   mitsumete   tameiki tsuita

harahara maichiru   hanabira ga kata ni
sotto   tomatteiru
chikaku ni ikitai
urayamashikute   motto   uwasasuru

toshoshitsu no   tsukue no ue ni okareteiru
suisou wo derenai   kingyo ga futari

kirei na yosoi de   tanoshimasete itai
urei wo fukunde kurai,
sumi no you na hitomi   mizu de usumete agetai   dakara

kinran donsu no   watashi no sugata wo
motto   mitsumeteite
osakana no kisu wa
karuku fure au dake de   shabon tama

mukuwarenai   sono kimochi wa
watashi tachi mo onaji da yo
“nagekanaide” “nagekanaide”
tooku de   naita

yuugure ga kitemo   ugokanai senaka
naze   furueteru no
anata wo ijimeru,   kanashimi
wasuresasete agetai no

kinran donsu no   watashi no sugata ni
me wo hosometeite
osakana no kisu wa
karuku fure au dake de   shabon tama


Leave a comment

Categories